About Us

  1. Home
  2. About

About Solar Energy Society of Nigeria

Our History

The Solar Energy Society of Nigeria (SESN) was inaugurated in March 1980 at the Project Development Institute (PRODA) Enugu. By 11th July of the same year, the Society was officially launched at a brief ceremony performed by the then Deputy Governor of old Anambra State, Engr. A.S. Umenyi, assisted by the then Honourable Commissioner for Technology, Imo State, Chief Oji O. Okereke.

The pioneer members of the Society include such prominent peoples as Professor A.O.E. Animalu (Foundation President of the SESN), Professor G.O. Ezekwe (the then Director, PRODA, Enugu), Professor C.C.O. Ezeilo (University of Nigeria, Nsukka), Professor U.A. Akinsote (University of Lagos), Professor R.I. Salawu (University of Lagos), Professor N.I. Ngoka (formerly of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ife and later Enugu State University of Technology, Enugu), Professor A.T. Sulaiman (Past President, SESN and former Vice Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Yola and a host of others.

During the inaugural meeting and conference of the Society in 1980, technical papers were presented. This inaugural meeting and conference consequently gave birth to the National Solar Energy Forum (NASEF), which since 1980 has been held annually in several places in Nigeria including, Enugu, Lagos, kano, Bida, Birnin-Kebbi, Zaria, Kaduna, Ilorin, Port-Harcourt, Sokoto, Nsukka, Awka, Benin, Ife, Ibadan, Makurdi, Owerri and Abuja among others.